Hometask for Grade 11/ 14.02- 18.02/

Task 1.

Work with a partner. Complete more useful phrases (a-j) from the conversation to
talk about people’s appearance. Use the phrases in the box.
a very, changed so, in the, spitting image, that smile, look anything, looking woman, no resemblance, the same, 
a) The one in the white jacket? b) She’s the spitting imageof Gwyneth Paltrow.
c) She doesn’t look anything like Gwyneth Paltrow. d) She’s got the same hair.
e) I’d recognise that smile anywhere. f) She’s got a very distinctive smile.
g) That woman bears absolutely no resemblance to Gwyneth Paltrow. h) I saw this amazing looking woman walking
towards me.
j) I didn’t recognise her. She’s changed so much

Task 2. 

Complete the second sentence so that it has a similar meaning to the first sentence,
using the word in brackets.
a) I look exactly like my father. -+ I’m the spitting image of him. (image)
b) Our eyes are identical. -+ We’ve got the same eyes . (same) c) His way of walking is unusual. -+ He has distinctiveness . (distinctive)
d) I look very different from my mother. -+ I don’t look alike . (like)

e) She looks completely different from the rest of the family. -+ She bears no resemblance .
(resemblance)
f) She was an extremely attractive woman when she was younger. -+ She was amazing .
(amazing-